Something wicked this way comes

A post on Mom and Dad’s blog today (http://parentsofanaddict.blogspot.com/2010/06/new-partnership-posting.html) reminded me of a phone call I got from a friend a couple of weeks ago. My friend called because her Dad was addicted to prescription pain killers. His doctor had cut him off abruptly and now the man was on the streets buying. He had finally admitted he had a problem and wanted to get help. She was frustrated with the system and didn’t know how to go about getting that help. After I gave her advice on what steps could be taken so that he could get an assessment done and get into a rehab, she began to tell me about her worries for her 16 year old daughter.

She said that her daughter had begun drinking the year before and had now progressed to the point of getting drunk as often as she could, smoking pot and using speed. She had also been cutting herself. My friend had done everything that she could think of. She’d grounded her daughter, taken her to a therapist etc… She was at a total loss as to what to do next.

It made me think back to my journey with H and her burgeoning addiction. It began when she was 14. She got drunk at a school dance and passed out in a snowbank. Luckily, an older friend who at one time had lived with us found her and called me and she got grounded for a month. The next incident (that I know about) happened a few months later. Pretty much the same thing except there was no snow and I grounded her again. Shortly after that she began using ecstasy, smoking pot, and taking speed. I talked to her, grounded her, policed her and did everything I could. After 6 months she went into a day program, which unbeknownst to me advocated “harm reduction” (that whole concept really gets my goat). She “graduated” while still smoking pot and occasionally drinking. At the time, to me it was a relief. Things weren’t as bad. If only I had really understood. I can’t help but feel that way, even though I know that I could have done nothing to change the course of events.

I tried to be vigilant. I called her on everything she stole, on everytime she lied and on everything that she did. But I couldn’t stop it. Nothing that I did helped. This is unbelievably hard for a parent. Knowing that everything you do is essentially useless, that you cannot save your child from herself.

I once kicked in the door of a drug house and dragged her out, I confronted her in front of her so-called friends, I asked the police to hold her in the drunk tank, I told people to stay the hell away from her. I took her to detox and rehabs and counsellors. I searched her room. I did my best. But from the beginning I never really saw it coming. I never saw how bad it could get and how quickly it could happen.

By the time H was 18 her addiction had progressed to the point that she would black out everytime that she drank. She had tried and was using every drug available but crack had become her drug of choice. If she couldn’t get her hands on alcohol (legal drinking age is 19 here and I kept her ID) she would drink mouthwash, extracts, body spray…It didn’t matter what. Once when I thought I had her locked in for the night, she snuck out the second floor bathroom window and jumped off the garage roof. She’s OD and had to be revived, she’s been beaten and left for dead in the field beside a bus stop, she’s been sexually assaulted, cut by a dealer and done things that don’t bear thinking about.

And I didn’t see it coming…Other kids experiment with alcohol or drugs and their parents lay down the law and in the end the kids grow up just fine. But for the rest of us we don’t know that the wicked, evil thing that is addiction has come to steal our children. We don’t see it stalking them and whispering in their ears, filling them with lies and false beliefs.

I didn’t know what to tell my friend. She knew a lot of H’s story already (we were neighbours until H was 19). I talked about the warning signs, gave her the phone number for a family addictions center downtown and gave her my perspective. I told her that I was here if she needed me. That all she could do was the do the best she could. That’s all any of us can do, as sad and scary as that is.

I did the best I could. And addiction stole my child anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Something wicked this way comes

  1. Kristi says:

    I have been exactly were you were, I’ve thought those same exact thoughts, I’ve policed, grounded, drug to rehab, called cops, left him jail, screamed, yelled, threatened his so called friends, washed my hands of it all….I did everything I could think of to do, just like you. Yet, here we are….amoung so many others, just like us. I pray daily for each of you out there and especially for each and everyone of your children, I will not lose hope, I just can’t. Together we’ll get through this, just for today!!

  2. Dawn McCoy says:

    there just are no answers that make sense. although very religious, i am not what anyone would consider an “end timer” or those who believe that the end times are here. A dear friend of mine is, and she once told me that the antichrist is what is stealing our children away, that Satan is present and walking among us and the addictions etc are part of all of that.

    heck, it makes as much sense as anything else!!

    I too miss my daughter. To me that person is dead. Her body still walks and talks, but my baby girl is simply gone. forever gone.

  3. Renee says:

    I am a member of this club as well. I tried every single thing I could think of, everything.

  4. Lisa C says:

    Trying everything we can is a requisite for being in this club. But the truth is we didn’t cause it, we can’t control it, and we can’t cure it. And because of our disease of codependency, until we withdraw and rehab, we can’t get better either!

    But as we get better, we actually become a positive role model for our loved ones, our addicts, and they can and do, sometimes, hit their bottom without death, and then start their journey towards recovery. The journey for all involved is heart wrenching. Peace, and prayers to everyone.

  5. Kathy M. says:

    I feel like you were telling my story. I did all those things, and all those things happened to my daughter. What I finally learned was that the only thing my attempts to control did was drive a wedge between my daughter and me.

    I was powerless. I was powerless over her addiction and her behaviors. I had to turn her over to God. I had to give her the dignity to make her own choices and also to live by the consequences. She was an adult by then. I did pretty well about letting her make her own choices, but it took longer to stop feeling responsible for the consequences. This is a heartbreaking disease, particularly when it’s your child. Big hugs to you.

  6. HerBigSad says:

    “I did the best I could. And addiction stole my child anyway.”

    Yes. I did everything I could and the best that I could. Now, I am conceding that it is no longer my job to try to come between my daughter and her consequences. Besides, I am tired. That being said, I will never give up hope.
    Hugs and prayers!

  7. Helga says:

    It stole mine too. I miss her more every day. I have tried it all. I still have hope, but it is getting slimmer by the day.

  8. beachteacher says:

    i did every single thing I could think of,…multiple times,…but addiction got my son anyway. The hell we’ve been through is still something that amazes me, and I was the one that lived it. As much as we appreciate each other, we all never wanted to join this “club” together.
    Lori

  9. kel says:

    I too, could have written the above post about the years of pain and suffering when my son started using. I was once a member of your club, and now I am a member of another club.. Mothers of Angels. My son lost his battle with addiction 9 months ago to a heroin overdose. I wasnt even his drug of choice, or so I thought. I pray for each and every one of you in your journey and hope you never have to endure the pain of losing your child forever… hugs to you…

Leave a Reply

