We found her

After a long night of walking the streets, peering into alleyways and scouting around crack houses; she is home safe.

We almost had her early on in the evening but she left just before we got there. I was devastated. To come so close. At that point we actually gave up and came home. I was so angry. The streets are just full of these poor lost souls and nothing gets done. I’m a 42 year old suburban mother and even I know where a couple of  crack houses are and the names of some of the dealers. Why can’t the police shut them down? I know their argument is that they want to catch the big guys not the little guys but their plan is obviously not working! Shouldn’t they try something different? It kills me that there is nothing they can or will do to help parents in situations like this. When I talked to them they gave me their usual spiel…she’s over the age of 16, nothing we can do, blah, blah, blah.

H’s bf kept in touch. letting me know via phone and text what he knew, which I appreciated so much. By the time we got home I was crying so much I didn’t think I would ever stop. After we’d been home for about  an hour a collect call came. It was H. She was crying and saying she was sorry. I told her I’d come and pick her up. She told me she didn’t know how long she could stay where she was…no money left and her credit shot I guess. But she gave me her location and my husband and I hopped in the van. By the time we got down there she was gone.

I didn’t know how much more I could take. I took a deep breath and parked the van. My husband and I did another walk through the area. An ambulance drove up to a crowd near the salvation army and all I could think was that it was for her. (It wasn’t.) As we crossed a street I could see a girl curled up in a fetal position up on a stone wall. It looked like my daughter, but I had already thought that a dozen times and didn’t want to get my hopes up. But it was her.

We found her. Thank you to everyone who commented and prayed. It meant the world. I feel very grateful to have found a community of such giving, caring people. People who, as sad as it is, understand. Thank you all so much.

More later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We found her

  1. Lorraine Cadieux says:

    My heart aches for both of you. I do pray that she hangs there till she gets to rehah. Our prayers continue to go out to you’se that while she’s there God touches her heart in a special way that will bring her back to reality. As a gramma I do feel for you. As hard as it is I pray for strentgh for you my dear. Love you both alot. { Big Hugs}

  2. Barbara says:

    I am so glad you found her! What a relief. I hope you feel better today.

    I know what you mean about how the police DON’T do a dang thing about the drug houses. I know exactly where to go to buy drugs in our area and ask the same thing – why do they let it go on and on, so what if these aren’t the “big guys” they are still breaking the law and in the process feeding the addictions of thousands of young people.

    Where my son used to buy they would send their children out, as young as ten years old, to do the deals so that they would never get caught with it. They should also be arrested for child endangerment.

  3. heathersmom1 says:

    Praise God! I am so glad you found her and she is safe now. I’m so sorry you had to go through that nightmare though. Hopefully she will stay put and you will be able to get some rest! Keeping you both in my prayers.
    God bless.

  4. Kristi says:

    I am so glad this event is past and your daughter is back with you!! I hope you can get a little rest and I hope that H gets that bed in rehab very soon!! There is such power in prayer….keep the prayers going!!

  5. Rachel says:

    I’m so happy that things worked out for the better… I’ll keep praying for her recovery and for you to get some peace of mind. I know that it’s hard to be a parent and helpless. Keeping the prayers going.

  6. Thank God that you found her. I am keeping you and your family in my prayers. I pray for her recovery. I pray for you to find peace. I pray.

Leave a Reply

