Detox

She’s checked herself into detox. Thank God. But for the past two days I’ve been dealing with endless phone calls…

She says she wants to die. Those words send a chill right to my core. Because she almost did die once. She OD’d and as I was driving her to the hospital (she was perfectly lucid at that point) she suddenly had a grand mal seizure and stopped breathing. I called 911 and had her boyfriend (who was in the car with us) talk to them while I pulled over, dragged her out of the car and started CPR. Within minutes the fire department was there and they took over. When the ambulance arrived and they got her in she stopped breathing again. They had to intubate her in the ambulance. She spent 3 days in the ICU and then they released her. They RELEASED her!!!

Why would they be so quick to release someone who had tried to commit suicide? When I spoke to the psychiatrist I was told that they couldn’t treat her because of her alcohol and drug issues, that those issues had to be dealt with first. The stupidity of the system constantly astounds me.

That was 2 1/2 years ago. Since then we’ve been on the recovery/relapse train, going in circles. I’ve been told that every time an addict enters treatment there is more chance of success, more chance that something will “stick”.

I hope so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Detox

  1. Barbara says:

    They released her!? I thought the 5150 law was in all 50 States which means they should have admitted her to psychiatric care for observation for 72 hours (been there done that with my son twice). What a horrifying experience for you to have to go through. Has she been checked for any mental illnesses? Its so common for addicts to have a co-occurring problem like bi-polar or something. Its just as hard to deal with, but with the right meds it gives the addict help in feeling well enough to not use.

  2. cdcb says:

    I’m in Canada and it’s different here I guess. She was on prozac for 3 years (15-18) for her eating disorder and depression but it didn’t seem to help at all. There was talk at one point of borderline personality disorder (which her father has) but I was told that she couldn’t be properly diagnosed let alone treated until she’d been clean for at least 6 months. Which hasn’t happened…I don’t understand how they expect it to happen if she does have a mental illness.

  3. Lisa C says:

    I use to wonder if the repeated rehabs made a difference, knowing they were followed by another relapse. My brother told me that it helped with her daughter…each time she stayed clean a little longer, cared a little more. They were on a 15 year roller-coaster ride with her, but she is now clean for two years; and I believe what my brother told me. Don’t let go of the hope!

Leave a Reply

