The three c’s of Al-Anon

As a parent of an addict this is the motto I have to live by…

I didn’t cause it
I don’t control it
And I can’t cure it

Some days this is impossible to remember.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The three c’s of Al-Anon

  1. Rachel says:

    Seems that would be good for parents of acquired brain injury too.. I know I couldn’t help what happened but still some days I wish I had answers even if it was something I did wrong.

  2. cindy says:

    “sometimes”? I’ve been in the program for 2yrs. and 3 months…I go to 3-4 meetings a week. And every day I relapse by thinking…”maybe I was too critical when he was growing up”..”if only I hadn’t used shame in discipline”….”I was too self centered and didn’t pick up on things other parents would’ve addressed”….
    God help me love my alcoholic son regardless.

  3. Annette says:

    Believing that I couldn’t control or cure it came easy….believing that I hadn’t caused it took a very long time. My counselor friend told me that it was just another form of me trying to control it…if it was my fault then surely I could figure out what to change about myself that would fix it all.

  4. Dawn says:

    I picked up my book today and saw the 3 C’s there and it was SO helpful. Now my book has moved to the table by the bed and a morning reading will be welcome once again. Ahhh, the holidays.

Leave a Reply

